Barclays CD rates reach 3.50% APY on six and nine month terms, with no minimum opening deposit. The online certificates also offer longer terms, but their listed rates fall as the commitment stretches to five years.
Barclays CD rates by term
The rate schedule makes the shorter options the strongest on yield among the listed Barclays CDs. Both the six month and nine month certificates pay 3.50% APY. A one year term pays 3.25%, while the listed two year rate is 3.00%.
Rates step down for longer commitments: the three and four year CDs pay 2.50%, and the five year CD pays 2.00%. These figures describe the rates in the schedule below. Since CD offers can change, confirm the APY and terms on Barclays’ application page before opening an account.
| CD term | APY | Minimum deposit |
|---|---|---|
| 6 months | 3.50% | None |
| 9 months | 3.50% | None |
| 1 year | 3.25% | None |
| 18 months | 3.00% | None |
| 2 years | 3.00% | None |
| 3 years | 2.50% | None |
| 4 years | 2.50% | None |
| 5 years | 2.00% | None |
The listed term range begins at three months, although the rate schedule provided here does not state a three month APY. Do not assume that term carries the same yield as the six month option. Check the actual offer before comparing it with another bank’s three month CD.
APY is the annual percentage yield, a way to express the interest rate with the effect of compounding included. To estimate what a specific deposit might earn, use a CD interest calculator and enter the deposit amount, term and APY. The result can help compare options, but it is only useful if the entered rate matches the bank’s current offer and you keep the money in the account for its full term.
What the rate schedule means for savers
A higher APY does not automatically make a CD the right place for every dollar. The term determines how long the money is committed, and Barclays charges an early withdrawal penalty if money is taken out before maturity. A saver choosing between six and nine months, for example, would see the same listed APY but would need to leave the nine month deposit in place for three additional months.
For someone who can leave the money untouched, the six or nine month options have the highest listed rates. The nine month term may suit a goal that falls later in the year, while the six month term returns the money sooner. Those are timing distinctions, not a guarantee that one option will produce a particular dollar return. The deposit amount and account details matter as well.
The longer terms offer a different trade off. A five year CD keeps the deposit committed much longer than a short term CD, yet its listed 2.00% APY is below the listed rates on every shorter term in the table. That makes it especially important to compare the duration with the rate, rather than assuming a longer commitment earns a higher return.
Barclays does not set a minimum opening deposit, but there is a small interest posting condition: the deposit must be large enough to generate at least $0.01 in interest each month. If it does not, the bank will not post interest during that period, leaving the account without posted earnings until maturity. Check the amount needed for the particular term and rate before funding the CD, especially if the planned deposit is small.
A practical comparison starts with a clear cash need. Set aside money needed for bills or a planned purchase before choosing a CD term. Then compare the remaining amount with the bank’s interest condition, confirm the offer and consider whether the full balance can stay untouched through maturity. A calculator can show an estimated return for the amount and APY entered, but it cannot make cash inaccessible or remove the penalty.

Barclays’ early withdrawal penalty is 90 days of interest for terms of two years or less. For terms longer than two years, the penalty is 180 days of interest. The penalty applies to an early withdrawal, so a CD is a poorer fit for money that might be needed unexpectedly. A 14 day grace period allows penalty free withdrawals, but the source material does not specify its timing in relation to maturity. Ask Barclays to confirm when that window begins and ends before relying on it.
The bank is FDIC insured. The stated insurance limit is $250,000 for the combined deposits a customer holds at a particular bank, not $250,000 for each account. Anyone with multiple Barclays accounts should count those balances together when checking coverage.
Compare CDs with accounts that keep cash accessible
Barclays’ CDs are one way to hold savings, not the only one. The alternatives differ in access, possible charges and how long money must remain committed. The source does not provide rates or fee schedules for the alternatives below, so compare the specific account terms before moving funds.
| Option | Access and commitment | Trade off to check |
|---|---|---|
| Barclays online CD | Choose a listed term from 6 months to 5 years; early access carries a penalty. | Rates vary by term, and the deposit must earn at least $0.01 in interest each month for interest to post. |
| Other bank CD | Also ties savings to a selected term. | Another institution may offer a higher APY. Compare the full term and withdrawal penalty, not just the headline rate. |
| High yield savings account | Provides a savings account alternative when continued access matters. | Compare its current rate and account rules with the CD’s fixed term and early withdrawal conditions. |
| Checking account | Useful for cash that needs to remain available for regular spending. | Some high interest checking accounts can pay more than traditional checking accounts, but check account requirements and terms. |
| Money market account | Similar to savings, with some accounts offering check writing or a debit card. | Monthly fees or minimum balance requirements may apply; verify them for the account being considered. |
| I bonds | A U.S. government savings bond option intended to protect savings from inflation. | The money must remain invested for at least one year, and its rate may be above or below the best CD rates. |
These choices solve different cash management problems. A CD provides a defined term and an early withdrawal cost. A savings account may be more appropriate when continued access is a priority. Checking is intended for money that needs to be available for transactions, while money market accounts may combine savings features with payment access. Those features can come with conditions, so read the account disclosures rather than assuming all accounts operate alike.
Some savers deliberately keep a CD or savings account at a different bank from their everyday spending account. Separating the money can make an impulsive withdrawal less convenient. That approach does not remove Barclays’ penalty or change the account’s terms; it is simply one way a saver might manage access and temptation.
Steps to take before opening a Barclays CD
Start by matching the term to the date you expect to need the funds. Compare the six and nine month offers with the one year or longer options, while keeping in mind that the listed APY declines on the longer terms. A higher rate is useful only if the term works for the planned expense.
- Check Barclays’ current APY for the exact term. The figures in the table may no longer be available when you apply.
- Use a calculator to estimate interest on the deposit you intend to make. Confirm that the balance can earn at least $0.01 in interest each month.
- Review the early withdrawal penalty: 90 days of interest on a term of two years or less, and 180 days of interest on a term over two years.
- Ask Barclays to clarify the 14 day grace period, including the dates when penalty free withdrawals are allowed.
- Compare other banks’ CD rates, then weigh the rate against each account’s term and withdrawal rules.
- Count all deposits at Barclays when checking the $250,000 FDIC insurance limit.
Opening a CD at another bank may add a separate account to manage, but it can also make it easier to compare offers across institutions. Barclays’ lack of a minimum opening deposit is convenient for savers who want to start with a smaller balance, provided the balance meets the monthly interest posting condition. A larger deposit is not required by the stated account terms.
Before submitting an application, read the account disclosures for the current rate, how interest is handled and the maturity instructions. The material here gives the listed rates, penalty and grace period, but does not spell out every account procedure. Confirm those details directly with Barclays so there is no uncertainty about what happens when the selected term ends.



